The Host

Posted on

Yesterday I saw this movie called “The Host”, with my sister and mum. It’s a romantic sci-fi movie based on a book by Stephanie Meyer (I know, I know.. just hear me out) and I was honestly a bit shocked at how well I could relate to it. You see, in the movie, aliens have invaded earth and started taking over the human race. Basically, the aliens are these small worm- like creatures that are inserted into humans, the human’s consciousness becomes suppressed/ disappears and take over is complete. When this happens, the eyes of the person changes to a sort of glowing light blue. However, sometimes, the human’s consciousness lingers, the human fights to stay alive, even though they have next to no control over the body. That it exactly what happens to the protagonist Melanie – an alien (so called “soul”) is placed in her body, but she keeps fighting and in the end they are both trapped inside the body.

Now, the aliens are not evil, they do not want to harm anyone. Quite the opposite, they are extremely peaceful and kind. They have invaded earth to end violence and save the planet. The soul who is placed in Melanie’s body is called Wanderer, and she now has control over the body, but as I mentioned earlier, Melanie is there inside with her and throughout the movie they have these conversations inside their head. Of course various issues keep coming up, like how Melanie feels trapped inside her own body and how frustrating it is for her that others only see Wanderer, or how torn Wanderer is between what she wants and what Melanie wants.

While I was watching the movie I couldn’t help but glance over at my mum and sis to see how they reacted to it, because it really felt  like they were seeing the story of my life (you know what I mean…), and it honestly made me a bit nervous. Needless to say, it was very odd seeing something so.. accurate? easy to relate to? considering that the movie wasn’t about DID/DDNOS or mental illness at all. 

I’d definitely recommend you check out the movie, and feel free to tell me what you thought! I’d love to know.

Leave a Reply

