Tip if you are having difficulty breathing

Posted on Updated on

I saw my physical therapist today and she gave me some advice I’d never heard before, and I thought it might be helpful for you to know as well! I have often be told that if I am having difficulty breathing, for instance if I’m having a panic attack, I need to take a deep breath.  While it is true that you should take deep breaths, my physical therapist informed me that what you really want to do is focus on breathing out instead of concentrating on breathing in. You need to exhale properly to empty your lungs of “old” air, otherwise there won’t be much room for fresh air. So next time you find it difficult to breathe, try to exhale slowly but thoroughly, preferably through your mouth.

Just a little something I learned today, I hope it will prove helpful!

One thought on “Tip if you are having difficulty breathing

    manyofus1980 said:
    April 10, 2014 at 8:34 am

    We find it so hard to breathe deeply. This is good advice. Thanks for sharing. XX

Leave a Reply

