Question about United States of Tara

Posted on

Here’s the deal: my boyfriend is having a hard time wrapping his head around DDNOS/DID, and we have talked about this and he is willing to really make an effort and research it. However, he is pretty busy with uni work at the moment, so I had this idea that we could watch United States of Tara together, and save the DID-books until his course is over. Now, I do realize that United States of Tara is not really meant to be educational, and I know that it will probably be a bit overdramatic at times, so my question to those of you who have seen it; how good/bad is it? Is it sort of accurate, or is it totally overdramatic? Does it give a bit of insight into what it’s like to live with this condition, or would watching it just add to my boyfriend’s confusion? 

I was also wondering, for my own sake, is it triggering? 

Any input would be appreciated! Oh, and if there are other resources (books, shows, movies, documentaries and so on) for people living with someone who struggles with DDNOS/DID you can recommend, it would mean the world to me!

2 thoughts on “Question about United States of Tara

    Bourbon said:
    March 31, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    USOT: Hmm… relying on my memory here… it’s very ‘stereotypical’ DID… full amnesia between alters, stark differences between alters (ways of dressing, acting, likes/dislikes etc), family member who doesn’t understand/want to understand, protector alter, little alter, very disturbed alter (you may find triggering, I know I did), teenage alter etc… it doesn’t do much at all for DDNOS I wouldn’t imagine.

    manyofus1980 said:
    April 10, 2014 at 8:39 am

    Yes Bourbon is right. Its quite trigger season 3 is very trigger. It ends badly. It is a little bit accurage, but as bourbon said, its typical did, alters roles are really defined. I’d say its good entertainment. If you want a good dvd go to first person plural and get a logical way of being, that’s an introductory dvd about did and ddnos and the other complex dissociative disorders. If your in the UK its about 25 pounds, and if your in the USA it works on any kind of dvd player.

Leave a Reply

