How Phemie sees it #1 Are alters people?

Posted on Updated on

Are alters people?

It’s a question that’s been discussed many times, and it’s a very touchy subject for some.

My answer is: I don’t know. I am too much of a straight forward kind of person to sit around and think about such philosophical questions, and even if I’d come to some sort of conclusion, it wouldn’t change anything for me. It just doesn’t matter to me, personally.

Now, I don’t know whether we are people, a symptom of a disorder, the aftermath of horrible trauma or something entirely different. But what I do know is that we, everyone in this system, are equals. Regardless of age, role, characteristics, how often we front or how long we’ve been around, we are all equally important. I believe that we are all irreplaceable and even though I do not like or get along with everyone in here, we all have the same worth. Some of us are here to protect or keep some sort of balance, others just want to destroy themselves, the body and everyone around them, but either way, we are all vital parts of this system. That’s why we are here, right? If we weren’t all needed, we wouldn’t be around.

That’s all I need to know, and l will hold on to this belief because that is the only way that I’m going to be able to deal with sharing a body with eight other people for the rest of my life.

And that is how I see it.

Naturally, you are free to voice your opinion on the topic (and I encourage all of you to do so!), as long as you do it respectfully.

/Phemie

4 thoughts on “How Phemie sees it #1 Are alters people?

    sarahkreece said:
    March 20, 2014 at 12:29 am

    Is an interesting question and I guess to some extent it depends on the context… Are they/we people in a legal sense? No – one body, one vote, one criminal record, one custody law and so on. In a relationship sense – possibly so, certainly people in my life have different relationships with different parts and that’s appropriate. You can’t treat a 5 year old and a 30 year the same. Are they people to each other? Maybe too, it depends on what we mean by the word people… If it means, being protected by some basic rights, being seen as human, that is flawed, with a heart, with some capacity for empathy and understanding – then I’d say that seeing alters as people is pretty essential.

      litenselleri responded:
      March 25, 2014 at 5:23 pm

      Absolutely agree! I think this is what Phemie meant to say. When answering the question if alters are people, one first has to establish a definition of what a person is. Of course there are so many factors weighing in, so many things to consider. I think that’s why Phemie chooses to keep it simple by just saying that we are all equals and should be treated as such. Thank you so much for you comment!

    Sam Ruck said:
    March 21, 2014 at 11:49 pm

    I treat ALL the girls in my wife’s network as real people. I understand that they are also “part” of my wife, the whole, but it would be unhelpful and unhealing for me to constantly denigrate their worth by mentioning that to them regularly.

      litenselleri responded:
      March 25, 2014 at 5:20 pm

      You sound like such a supportive partner! I absolutely agree that alters should be treated as people, they deserve that respect. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

