Reaction to Kati Morton’s video on DID

Video Posted on

I follow Kati Morton on Youtube, she is a therapist intern (I think?) and she makes videos about mental health issues. Recently she posted this video where she talks about DID and maladaptive daydreaming and so I wanted to share that video and my reaction to it with you guys.

So let’s start with the positive things. I really appreciate her bringing this up and trying to raise awareness!
I feel like many professionals who talk about DID skip the “inner world” part, and I like that she actually talked about it.

However, I think that she just missed all of the central parts, the characteristics of DID, like how alters can and do take over the body, the alters’ roles, the amnesia and the fact that you get attached to your alters. I think that that is what she made it sound like DID is about spending all your time on fantasizing about a person you made up, when in fact it is much more than that. I also think she didn’t make it clear that we don’t create alters consciously.

All in all, I think she focused on the wrong things and that she didn’t actually explain what DID really is but I appreciate the effort nonetheless. She wasn’t disrespectful, and that means a lot to me. Hopefully some viewers decide that they want to know more about DID after watching this!
What are your thoughts on the video?

5 thoughts on “Reaction to Kati Morton’s video on DID

    anotherhopeentirely said:
    January 11, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    It also seemed to me like she was sort of making DID sound like when you spend math class thinking about going on a cruise. I think it was the use of the term “daydreaming” that bugged me. To me, a daydream is a positive thing I’m imagining–and that is not my experience of DID. Switching to other parts doesn’t usually make me feel good like imagining a tropical vacation. It often causes problems for us, since most of us are not “ideal imaginary friends,” which was how it seemed like she was portraying us. Our identities are rooted in severe trauma. Though some of us have grown beyond our moment of trauma, it’s still the core of who we are. We’re not the result of our host imagining an ideal life. That’s demeaning to us and minimizes our experiences and our core selves.

      litenselleri responded:
      January 14, 2014 at 7:24 pm

      Agreed. Even tough she used the word “maladaptive” before daydreaming, it still sounded like we were just dreamers or hopeless romantics of some sort. To me, switching can be nice, especially if I need a break or switch to a happy alter, but I a lot of times I feel out of control and sort of like a prisoner in this body.
      And you are absolutely right, daydreams and fantasies are great simply because we make them superior to reality. Alters and inner worlds come from our subconscious, they are not made to make us feel better, they are made to take care of what we cannot, that includes anger, fear and painful memories. Especially persecuters can very hard to deal with. It is the total opposite of a daydream, really.

      Again, I agree that she didn’t acknowledge alters for what they are, and minimized their roles. I also didn’t appreciate that she talked about integration as the only option for treatment. We get attached to our alters, because they are people, not daydreams.
      I hope you didn’t get too offended by what she said, I’m sure she meant well, she is just misunderstanding the whole thing. Please know that I as a host (and many others with me) recognize alter for what they are and appreciate you and everything you have done and do for us!

    Trauma And Dissociation project said:
    January 17, 2014 at 7:00 pm

    It was awful and stigmatizing. She did no research.
    She didn’t even both with a mention of amnesia even though it’s essential for dissociative identity disorder. Alter identities were treated terribly in it too and not acknowledged as necessary in both present and past.

    I don’t know where she got the idea of “maladapative daydreaming” from, or the idea that DID involves hours of sitting around doing nothing – it seems more like the opposite to me! She also talked about fantasy – creating a fantasy life – that mixed up role playing/making a choice to create a new reality with mental illness, which is not a choice.

    Did she meant well? She didn’t act on negative feedback from those with DID on her youtube channel, even though she contradicted professionals including the treatment guidelines.

    I think as a minimum she should have included diagnostic criteria and reworked the video given the negative feedback she got.

      litenselleri responded:
      January 21, 2014 at 4:22 pm

      While I do think she meant well and didn’t mess up deliberately, I agree with you that it was very flawed and misleading. She didn’t include the very basics, instead she just seems to have mixed DID and maladaptive daydreaming up. I also found it strange that she didn’t follow up on the negative comments, I had the impression that she is really trying to educate people about mental health, and that she therefore would correct herself when it became obvious that she was spreading a false image of what DID is. I have to say that I have sort of lost my interest in her videos when it became clear that she wasn’t going to redo the video. I’m disappointed too, to say the least. I really thought that she would give some sort of response..

      I really understand your reaction..

        Trauma And Dissociation project said:
        March 1, 2014 at 5:07 pm

        I agree with you litenselleri – she didn’t reply to negative feedback and reassured a few people who posted that they didn’t seem to have DID when they were describing the symptoms of DID and really needed a proper assessment. She doesn’t seem interested in educating people about DID.

Leave a Reply

