Songs that hurt

Posted on Updated on

I’ve recently become somewhat obsessed with the song I See Fire by Ed Sheeran. It’s a very powerful, emotional song and it just really gives me the feels. Like, really. It almost hurts, yet I just can’t resist listening to it over and over. It got me thinking.. I have a few songs like that, haunting ones that make me hesitate before pressing play because I know what effect they have on me. They make me dissociate and I get so melancholic. Listening to them is bittersweet, you know?

I’m not sure why I wanted to share this with you guys, I just do. So here are some songs that are wonderfully painful, to me:

Ed Sheeran – I See Fire (I also highly recommend the Kygo remix of this song!)

Empire of the sun – We are the people

Jimmy eat world – hear you me [Trigger warning: talk about dealing with a loved ones’ death]
EDIT : I forgot to mention.. When I was newly diagnosed with DDNOS, almost exactly one year ago, my psychologist suggested that I should work towards integration. I barely knew my alters at all, yet I was struck by such pain and grief, like someone dear to me was going to die. This is the song I listened and cried to on the train ride home.

Paramore – Future (I really love the instrumental part at the end)

Flyleaf – Arise (Again, I really enjoy the ending)

What songs give you the feels?

 

2 thoughts on “Songs that hurt

    sarahkreece said:
    January 10, 2014 at 2:09 am

    Beautiful songs. I listened to We are the People a lot when someone I was caring for attempted suicide. It really spoke to me.

      litenselleri responded:
      January 14, 2014 at 7:12 pm

      Thank you and thank you for sharing! I appreciate you taking the time 🙂

Leave a Reply

