Why I don’t like breaks from school/ Asperger problems

Posted on Updated on

Our host (and possibly other alters as well, who knows) suffers from Asperger’s syndrome, which can make long breaks from school a pain in the ass. Now, don’t get me wrong, we enjoy being able to sleep for as long as we need, and yes, being free to do whatever we like instead of what we have to is great. The problems start when we are away from school for more than a week or two. Here’s the deal: We have a very, very hard time figuring out what to do, and that’s a very common problem for people with aspergers/autism. We aspies (generally) like our routines because figuring out what to do instead is just way too difficult. I understand that many people face this problem, but please remember that in our case, it’s actually part of our disability. Not only that, but finding it very difficult, if not impossible, to get started once you’ve figured out to do is also very common. Again, many have the same problem, but for us, it’s due to our disability. In fact, here in Sweden, people with Aspergers/autism can get help from the state with these kind of problems. You could, for instance, get assigned a person that you meet a couple of times a month and basically hang out with. 

With no routines and an inability to entertain myself, I get very bored. And when I get bored, I start obsessing over my problems. I start researching mental health conditions, taking online screenings and getting myself all worked up about disorders that I may or may not have. It’s just ridiculous and unhealthy, quite frankly. Or, I just get low and sad due to lack of stimulation. And that is why I don’t like breaks from school. It’s hard being an asperger kid sometimes… 

/ Phemie

Leave a Reply

