Happy, healthy, comfortable 2014, # 1 Goals, reasons behind them and how I’m going to achieve them

Posted on Updated on

Hello everyone! 

I hope you’ve had a great start of the new year, I know I didn’t, but that’s okay. This year, I’ve made a resolution to lose the weight I put on because of the medication I started taking about a year and a half ago (7 kg, about 15.4 lbs), to get in shape, to be healthier and to be happier with my body. To help me achieve these goals, I’ve decided to start a weekly segment where I talk about my progress, my struggles, my challenges and other stuff that has to do with body image, eating and exercise-habits. I’m also hoping to sort of team up with other people who have similar goals, so we can encourage and support each other! In other words, please feel free to join in! Whether you want to share your experiences or you want to participate quietly from afar is up to you. 

I’ve struggled with body image issues and disordered eating for a very long time, so I’m really going to try to focus on the “being healthy and comfortable”- part and not the “getting slimmer”-part. Someone has always especially hated the body’s stomach for being what they feel is disproportionately big (not sure exactly who it is though).
I want to maintain generally healthy habits, so that a slip up or two a month won’t make much of a difference, if that makes any sense. Also, I don’t want short-term change. Therefore, I’m gonna try to keep it very simple.

Okay, so I’ve established my goals. Now, I think it’s also very important to think about why I have these specific goals. You see, I believe that it’s not so much the goals as it is the reasons behind them that keep you motivated. Also, I think it’s important to do these types of changes for the right reasons, as it otherwise could turn into something very destructive. Here are our reasons for wanting to change:

* Gain confidence.We want the body to become stronger, so that we can rely on it more. I think that being confident that my body is strong enough to handle whatever that day may hold in store for us (I’m talking about everyday life here, not extreme scenarios). We also want to be more confident in terms of appearance, we want to be happy with the way we look. Which leads us to the next reason.

* To be more comfortable. We are several people sharing this body, and by doing these changes, I hope that we can be more comfortable in “our” skin. Wynn and myself are slimmer on the inside, which can be very hard on us. Especially Wynn can become quite dysphoric about the way the body looks and the fact that she can’t wear the clothes she wants to. The clothes she wants will often be in the kids-section, so naturally, they won’t fit, but if she does find something in the adult section, it usually doesn’t fit the way she wants it to because the body is too curvy. Same thing goes for some of the guys- the body is just a bit too curvy for them. I hope that we can collectively be happier by doing this.

* Stop destructive habits, feelings and thoughts. I hope that we can stop feeling so dissatisfied with the body, stop being so obsessed  and guilty about food and just generally worry less about it. Some of the other alters have problems with food and eating, and I’m hoping that we can battle these issues by improving our habits. 

* Help being more stable mentally. We have suffered from anxiety, sleeping problems and bipolar for a very long time. My former therapist used to tell me that the worse you are feeling, the better you need to take care of yourself, and I’ll try to follow that advice. 

* Battle physical issues. We have aslo been struggling with IBS- like symptoms and back/neck pains for years. I hope that by changing our ways, these problems will decrease as well. 

It’s time to talk about how we are planning on reaching our goals. Like I said earlier, we want to keep it simple to make it easier to stick to. We have already started doing some of the things that I’ll mention. Here it goes:

1. Drink more water! I’ve already started gradually increasing my water intake. Drinking a glass of water 30 minutes before every meal  helps me to not over-eat, decreases my stomach problems and is generally good for my health. I’ve also learned that often, you confuse thirst with hunger, so you eat when you are actually thirsty. Also, water helps boost your metabolism. So what I do is, I bring a big bottle full of water to school, and drink it throughout the day.  

2. Exercise daily. Now, I’m not talking about going to the gym everyday, but just doing some form of basic exercise everyday, and doing a “full out” workout two to three times a week. So, in other words, go for a walk or do a blogilates song-challenge (I really love those videos, because it makes working out at home much easier. They have both long and short work outs and each work out usually targets a specific area) everyday, and go to the gym a couple of times a week.  This is also something I’ve already started doing

3. Eat until I’m 80% full. I’ve heard that many Japanese people live by this rule. Either way, I’m gonna try to eat smaller but more frequent meals to keep my metabolism going. Hopefully, I’ll stop overeating. 

4. Ditch the carbs. In other words, no sugar (sweets, fruit), wheat (bread, pasta), potatoes or rice. I’ve already been eating less carbs for more than a year now, but I’m planning on getting a bit stricter than before. If you want to try this, I recommend you ease into it, because it’s quite a change for your stomach. Also, when following a low-carb diet, it’s easy to not get enough fibers. I take supplements for it, and it has really helped with my stomach issues. I choose to still eat fruit, because I love it and there are a lot of important vitamins and fiber in there. Oh, and one thing. Skipping fizzy, sugary drinks is especially important because drinks are easier to process for your body, which means that your blood sugar goes up faster.
Replace the carbs with vegetables, they are high on minerals, vitamins and fibers! 

5. Have weekly goals. I have a hard time with working towards goals that seem distant, so I’ve decided to have weekly goals and challenges instead. I’m gonna let you guys know what our challenge of the week is, and if you want to, you can do it with us! Oh, and successfully completing a weekly challenge will be followed by a small celebration of some kind to acknowledge our progress!

6. Keep a journal. I will be using this blog as a journal to keep track of my progress and so on. If you have similar goals, I’d recommend having a journal, or a blog (public or private for yourself and/or your friends, doesn’t matter). 

7. Practice mindfulness while eating. We sometimes really struggle with overeating and comfort-eating. Therefore, we will try to be more aware while we are eating to determine the reasons behind eating (hunger, feeling upset, feeling bored and so on), to appreciate the food more (the taste and texture) and to notice when we are getting full. Hopefully it’ll help us eat slower and make overeating and comfort eating a less frequent phenomenon for us.

8. Not eat 3 hours before I sleep. When sleeping, the body doesn’t really take care of food the way it does during the day when you are up and about. Your metabolism slows down at night, for instance. I’ve also come to the conclusion that not eating a few hours before I go to bed prevents me from waking up feeling all bloated and shit.

The body currently weighs 66 kg/145.5 lbs, its measurements are: Bust: 91 cm/35.8 inches Waist: 70 cm/72.6 inches, Hip: 92 cm/ 36.2 inches

So there you have it, my goals for this year, why I have them and how I’m planning on achieving them. What are your goals, and why? 

/Phemie

Leave a Reply

