Progress in art therapy

Posted on

I feel like I’m making a lot of progress in art therapy, in a surprisingly short period of time. We’ve had 15 sessions during the course of a few weeks. These last couple of sessions I’ve been able to discover so much more about my inner world (for those of you that don’t know, an inner world is kind of like a fantasy world, except that it feels very real. It’s very common for people with alters to have such inner worlds, and usually this is where the alters lead their lives when they are not fronting). You see, I have an inner world, but it contains other things than my alters which means that I so far have had no idea how they live. Now, I (Or maybe not I, but someone) has somehow been able to paint the entrance to their world, and the house they live in, including the immediate surroundings. The entrance is sort of like a cave that leads to a meadow. My alters live in a red house (it looks almost like an old barn), in this meadow, which is located in a forest. They are, in other words, quite isolated. When I learned that they live in a meadow, it dawned on me that Wynn actually has painted that meadow before, only I didn’t realize that it was where they lived. 

Anyway, Phemie has recently moved to the attic, which she and Nemo now share. Nemo is however, still sitting in a small, windowless room. Hopefully that’ll change as they grow closer. Wynn and Jiyu live on the second floor. It turns out that they are a lot closer and interact much more frequently than I thought. They also have a lot more in common than I had realized. They are the only alters that are happy and love life and they are also both connected to Asia in some way. Wynn through her love of anime and cosplay, Jiyu through his buddhism and roots in.. Thailand? I’m not sure exactly where he is from. Apparently they often hang out by the huge, old oak just outside the house. 

Moving on to the Sinner, who lives on the first floor. It surprised me that he lives with the others, I thought that he was much more of a loner. Perhaps I’ve misjudged him. The paranoid, phobic part who lives in a cellar, I suppose you could call it? It’s a dark, small room below the house that can’t be accessed from within the house. The angry man apparently lives in a small cottage on the perimeter. 

It’s so exciting to explore their world! Can’t wait to find out more 🙂

2 thoughts on “Progress in art therapy

    brokenbutbeingrepaired said:
    December 5, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    Art therapy seems to be hugely beneficial in general, and it`s so nice to see that’s the case for all of you, too.

    It`s really good to see the positivity you express about exploring their world-well done. 🙂

      litenselleri responded:
      December 17, 2013 at 9:54 am

      Yes, I’m really loving art therapy! 🙂 In a way, it’s very undemanding: no one is questioning you, pressuring you. The canvas is yours to use, it will be whatever you need or want it to be. It doesn’t talk back. You can just let what is inside come out and sort of do the talking for you. I highly recommend it 🙂

Leave a Reply

