Some thoughts on quitting self harm

Posted on

[Trigger warning: self harm]

I’ve never actively self harmed for any longer periods of time, usually I’ll hurt myself once or twice and than stop for weeks, months or even years before doing it again. In other words, it’s never been one of my main problems and naturally, my thoughts and opinions on the topic are based on my experiences only. 
Since I’ve self harmed recently, it’s been on my mind. Everyone self harms for a reason, whether it’s a way to cope with anxiety, express your feelings, punish yourself or something else, it does serve some kind of purpose. Quitting self harm is not only about quitting the physical act of hurting yourself, it is also about finding something else to take its place. You can’t quit a coping mechanism, you have to replace it. For me, the hardest part is finding a replacement that is as efficient as self harming at the roles self injuring plays for me. I think that’s why I keep coming back to it, I haven’t found anything that doesn’t hurt me, that can give me the effects and results I need.

What are your thoughts on this? Do you agree or disagree?

5 thoughts on “Some thoughts on quitting self harm

    DissociativeBonny said:
    November 14, 2013 at 10:00 pm

    I agree with what you are saying totally. I have gone a couple years without self harming, thinking i do not need to, and that i had figured out better ways to cope, however when i feel troubled badly i resort to some sort of self harm. I feel like it will always be a thing i yearn to do when in a bad place, i guess some people can just ignore that need, and others cannot. If you think of something that provides as much release let me know.

    keep well.
    bonny

    Valerie said:
    November 15, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    I’ve definitely been in your shoes, its definitely a conscious choice to choose something else!

    I’ve a blog that brings hope & inspiration to those in recovery or want to recover from self harm, with thoughts and things I found helpful, and others as well, check it out if you like!
    http://hopeinhealingblog.wordpress.com/

      litenselleri responded:
      November 17, 2013 at 1:09 pm

      Thank you for commenting! It’s comforting to know that I’m not alone.. 🙂 I’ll check it out!

    day1by1 said:
    November 15, 2013 at 9:38 pm

    I have nominated you for the versatile blogger award because your blog is inspirational and is a great read. See the rules on my blog 🙂 x

      litenselleri responded:
      November 17, 2013 at 1:10 pm

      Oh my gosh, thank you so much! I started this blog to spread the awareness and help others who are struggling, so it means a lot to know that I’m helping and inspiring at least one person 🙂

Leave a Reply

