Things that scare me

Posted on Updated on

[Trigger warning, fears, phobias]

Everyone’s afraid of something. Personally, I’ve always been afraid of a lot of things. Here is a list of things that scare me:

The dark, or rather, something being in the dark. This is especially true when Wynn is out when I go to bed. She keeps imagining monsters lurking in the dark, coming to the bed and grabbing her.

Not necessarily drowning (even though that scares me too), but being submerged under water and not being able to get up. If I’m in a lake or the ocean, I’m often scared that something will take hold of me and drag me down.

Other people’s aggression, anger and annoyance. Naturally, this leads me to be afraid of making others upset.

Being attacked by strangers.

Someone breaking in to my home.

Openings in walls, such as windows, doorways and staircases.

Rammstein’s songs. Laugh all you want, but those texts are enough to scare any child. I remember being about 8 years old, laying in bed and not being able to sleep because I had one of their songs stuck in my head. It was about some kid being buried or something. I’m scarred for life.

Having an accident, like being hit by a car or tripping and hurting myself.

SPIDERS. I hate those little freakish -looking creatures. Why can’t we just agree to both stay at a respectful distance?

Being abandoned and/or lonely. I’ve always suffered from separation anxiety. Unfortunately, I have had to face this fear way too many times. I’m just hoping that my heart can get a good, long rest now.

Embarrassing myself and being a walking example of social awkwardness. People talking and laughing about me behind my back. Having people point their finger at me. Don’t even get me started on chitchatting. *shudders*

Being judge for no real reason, like for having mental health problems. I’m so scared of missing out on life simply because others got the wrong idea of who I am and what my difficulties are. Prejudices literally horrify me. I might be haunted by monsters in the dark, but I’m not one of them. Why can’t we just talk about it instead of you running away screaming?

I’ve been afraid of heights for as long as I can remember. I have been working a lot on this fear this year though, and I am so proud of myself.

Having to go trough major traumas again. Quite self-explanatory.

Loud noises and hasty movements. I guess it’s kind of typical for trauma survivors.

I’m not really scared of children, but I often get uneasy around them. Some of my triggers involve children, so I guess that’s why.

I’m scared to gain weight. I’m not sure why though.

I hate turnip mash, and I don’t mean like I don’t like the taste of it. What I’m saying is that it makes me really uncomfortable.

I’m terrified of being ignored, belittled and not being believed.

I always freak out when playing games that involved having someone running after me, like tag. In other words, I’m afraid of being chased. Oh, and now that I think about it, I hate when people walk behind be as well, especially if we’re going to the same place.

Hmmm… That’s all I can think of for now.

What are you afraid of? Can you relate to some of my fears?

Leave a Reply

