A good thing with having mental health problems

Posted on Updated on

Hey everyone!

I had a tough evening yesterday, and I wanted to tell you guys about it but when I wrote it done I just didn’t know where I was going with it and it felt more like gossiping than anything else. I’ll probably try again later.

Anyways.. My friend is coming over! She’s gonna stay here for three days and then we’ll return to our boarding school together.
The only reason I know her is because I have mental health disorders. And that’s what I wanted to talk to you about: a good thing about having mental health problems is that it can lead you to get to know other people with mental health issues. I’ve found that they often are the most amazing people; strong, humble, caring, understanding, and genuine.  Most of my friends are actually insane, just like me 😛

I’ve always been drawn to the mentally ill and bullied kids. It was easier for me to befriend them, even way before I even suspected that I had a mental health disorder. Talking about your problems and life with mental illness to another person with similar difficulties and experiences is so liberating and it creates a special kind of bond. You don’t have to hide or be afraid around that person. They (generally) won’t run from your sadness, anger, shame and guilt, but counter it with sympathy and love. They are the ones you can call in the middle of the night, when anxiety has closed its hand around your heart and neck.


Not to forget what good advice and comfort you can get from a person or community, either online or away from keyboard. I don’t think you can imagine the relief when you can talk to a person about you’re diagnose, medication and treatment or psychology in general without having to explain every single technical term, unless you’ve experienced it yourself. It’s strange how much confidence a friend with similar problems can give you.

Humans are social creatures, we survive because we support each other. Naturally, that goes for mentally ill people as well. So today I want to applaud all the people with mental health issues out there, who not only manage their own lives, but enrich other’s. You truly are lifesavers.

2 thoughts on “A good thing with having mental health problems

    amanda said:
    August 25, 2013 at 9:23 pm

    Detta gjorde mig så glad. Kan bara hålla med. Tack för att du finns och för att du är störd! 😉

      litenselleri responded:
      August 26, 2013 at 5:10 pm

      Tack för att du finns och att du också är störd, så vi kan vara sjuka i huvudet tillsammans! 😛

Leave a Reply

